EU Bans Thai, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Benin Airlines From EU

BRUSSELS, Belgium -- The European Commission banned airlines from Thailand, Ukraine, Kazakhstan and Benin from flying to the European Union because of safety concerns, it said Wednesday.

Motor Sich Airlines AN-24RV

The commission, the E.U.'s executive body, has added Thailand's One Two Go Airlines, all airlines from Benin, six carriers from Kazakhstan and Ukraine's Motor Sich Airlines to its blacklist of airlines not allowed to fly to the bloc, it said in a statement.

The commission regularly publishes a list of passenger and cargo airlines which are banned from flying to its 27 member countries because they aren't considered safe enough.

Air Company Kokshetau, ATMA Airlines, Berkut Air, East Wing, Sayat Air and Starline KZ are the Kazakhstan carriers banned Wednesday.

Source: The Wall Street Journal